drag and drop failure in linux

Subscribe to drag and drop failure in linux 18 post(s), 4 voice(s)

I use ubuntu linux and my browser is firefox. For quite a long time drag & drop of auction URLs into jbw has been broken. Recently I decided to investigate the cause of this. I am not a java programmer, but java is close enough to C++ to let me understand what’s going on most of the time.

So what I have found so far is that jbw is accepting the drop from the browser containing text/html data. However jbw ends up ignoring the data because TargetDrop::receiveDropString rejects it. The reason it’s rejected is because JHTML::getAllURLsOnPage returns a null list.

The data being passed to receiveDropString looks something like this:

<a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ADIDAS-PERFORMANCE-Womens-Power-Capri-Athletic-Pants-M-/220593759671?cmd=ViewItem&amp;pt=US_Women_s_Athletic_Apparel&amp;hash=item335c69a5b7">http://cgi.ebay.com/ADIDAS-PERFORMANCE-Womens-Power-Capri-Athletic-Pants-M-/220593759671?cmd=ViewItem&amp;pt=US_Women_s_Athletic_Apparel&amp;hash=item335c69a5b7</a>

Can anybody suggest a way to fix or work around this problem? I really miss being able to use drag & drop with jbw.

It looks like the StringBuffer passed to TargetDrop::receiveDropString() has twice as many UTF-16 characters as it should, with the extras being a ‘\u0000’ after each legitimate character. I added some code to remove the extras and now the data isn’t being rejected anymore and drag and drop finally works on my linux machine!!!

I will leave it to the experts to figure it out why the URL data has the extra null characters and fix jbw the right way. I will be using my hacked jbw until the official one gets fixed.