Perhaps Morgan should change to shareware?

Subscribe to Perhaps Morgan should change to shareware? 10 post(s), 9 voice(s)

I have been using Jbidwatcher for many years, pretty much near its inception, and it’s been an invaluable tool and felt strongly enough about it to have donated 2 or 3 times.

However, one version about a year ago failed on me and now that I read these comments, I’m reluctant to rely on it any longer.

Obviously, it’s not Morgan’s fault that ebay keeps trying to lock out sniping tools, nor is it his fault that he has a life outside of developing Jbidwatcher and can’t stay on top of those changes immediately and, most inportantly, it’s obvious that Morgan can’t rely on users to voluntarily donate to make it worth his while to stay on top of it in a timely manner.

I, for one, would be more than willing to pay a shareware licensing fee to ensure that this otherwise invaluable piece fo software continues its development.

Dee

Sounds like a fine idea to me.

In enterprise software, there’s many examples of open source software where the company makes money off the service and support, e.g. Redhat, MySQL, JBoss, etc. but that doesn’t work for jbidwatcher.

I’ve always wondered if Morgan could make some $$ off ebay’s affiliate programming? If we are always buying items using jbidwatcher, shouldn’t ebay be kicking back some $$ to Morgan? Maybe because we doesn’t use ebay’s API or other affiliate marketing tools, he’s not able to plug into that. But that would be the most painless way for jbidwatcher users to pay Morgan to keep this fine software updated.

Very good idea.

Except – eBay probably won’t care, as if there’s no JBW, you and I will use another software or if there’s no such thing as a sniping software, people can use the eBay system to increase bids automatically… or big manually.