2.0 won't add auctions

Subscribe to 2.0 won't add auctions 16 post(s), 8 voice(s)

Avatar Michael in V... 5 post(s)

I have tried IE Explorer, Mozella Firefox, Google Chrome and Apple Safari and I get the same results from all of them: When I click Auctions/Add I can add an auction number but when I close JBW and then reopen it, that auction has disappeared (and it won’t let me add that auction again – it says that it has already been added). When I click Edit/Paste Auction, I get an error message (once again, when I try to add it again, instead of the error message it says that it has already been added). As I said, I get the same results in all 4 browsers. I have been using JBW for several years with never a problem until I installed 2.0. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Hi, If you check around the forums you will find you are not alone in having problems with Version 2 of JBidWatcher. I expect Morgans on the case and will no doubt issue an update as soon as he has one that’s “stable”. Until then the best thing to do is revert back to Beta 11 which still works for me in all respects. You could try deleting the old database on your machine (delete the folder jbdb) which will force JBidWatcher to recreate it. This has worked for some people but unfortunatly didn’t work for me. While you are waiting you could also take the time to send Morgan a donation for his work I’m sure he would appreciate it. :-))

Regards
Hoddy

Avatar Michael in V... 5 post(s)

Aha! Good idea, indeed! I went into the Cyberfox folder and there were all of the JBW Beta 2 .exe files (2, 8, 10 and 11). I copied the Beta11 shortcut to my desktop, ran it and all is well. It even shows the auctions that were added (and disappeared) when I was using 2.0. Thanks for your help Hoddy.

Avatar Morgan Schweers Administrator 1,204 post(s)

Greetings,
I’ve put up a 2.0.1 pre-release based on SVN revision 819. You can tell the version number by looking in Help | About and looking for 2.0.1pre2-819.